To costume, or not to costume? That is the Question.

Copyright Xavier Photography

Copyright Xavier Photography

More than ten years ago I embarked on an epic journey to my very first music festival: Soundwave. Each trip was a tale

Copyright Xavier Photography

Copyright Xavier Photography

of adventure, triumph and friends coming together. Every year my amigos and I would bring colour co-ordinated outfits and elaborate costumes in order to partake in what I liked to call: Neverland. Music Festivals became a place where I could be completely free, throw aside all my commitments to work and school and enjoy from 3-8 days of complete indulgence. Whether it be sun tanning, dancing beside 3 of my best friends on a log on the beach to my favourite music, dressing up as if we were still 5 years old or drinking before noon, we took every opportunity to explore our true selves as we hid away amongst the trees. Since then I have gone to Shambhala, Sasquatch, Victoria Electronic Music Festival, Tall Tree and this year I will attend Bass Coast for the first time. At each festival I have gone to I have seen some elaborate costumes; ones you can tell have taken months to plan and/or create as well as others that had been thrown together last minute.

So my question to you is: Do you dress up? Why or why not? Should Resonance uphold this tradition or will this be a new scene all together?

There is no right or wrong to this question; I am merely interested in hearing your perspective.

Copyright Xavier Photography

Copyright Xavier Photography

For me, I plan on dressing up with the rest of my wolf pack on Saturday. Fur and all. Feel free to join us; but if it isn’t your scene don’t feel as though you must partake. Resonance is what you make of it; it is exactly what you need–whatever that may be.

Kalisi ❤

 

Photos Courtesy Xavier Photography

One thought on “To costume, or not to costume? That is the Question.

  1. Costumes are a wonderful way to express the whole reason on why you
    are there! To laugh, be ridiculious and do the things no one can judge you for . Absolutely dress up , but I understand why people stay casual , its always comfy 😉

Leave a Reply

